Heading Logo

Ohio City Stages return in July at Cleveland Museum of Art

Published: June 16, 2017 7:17 PM
  • 1 of 1 Photos | View More Photos

The Cleveland Museum of Art’s Ohio City Stages returns for weekly summer block parties in front of Transformer Station on Wednesday evenings in July at 7:30 p.m. Now in its fifth season, Ohio City Stages is the museum’s acclaimed global music series that brings international artists to this neighborhood stage.

CMA Ohio City Stages
July 5: Joan Soriano
Joan Soriano plays steel string bachata, a genre of music essential to Dominican culture that draws upon a variety of influences from Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean. Soriano creates danceable music by blending bachata with sacred Afro-Dominican traditions.

July 12: Totó la Momposina
Totó la Momposina represents the music of Colombia’s Caribbean coastline, embodying its African, indigenous Indian and Spanish cultures to create a unique musical tradition. A recipient of the WOMEX Lifetime Achievement Award and the Latin Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award, Totó la Momposina focuses on cumbia, one of the better-known hypnotic rhythms of Colombia.

July 19: El Septeto Santiaguero
El Septeto Santiaguero is a Latin Grammy Award-winning band playing Cuban son. Since its founding in 1995, the group has performed in more than 30 countries, mixing different circuits of salsa, jazz and world music.

July 26: Mokoomba
Hailing from Zimbabwe, Mokoomba is a 6-piece award-winning band that blends traditional Tonga and Luvale rhythms with dashes of funk, ska and soukous. Mokoomba has taken its raw Afro-fusion energy to dance floors in more than 50 countries around the world.

CMA Studio Go
Stop by Studio Go, the CMA’s mobile art studio, to participate in hands-on art-making activities, pop-up drawing classes and other family-oriented art projects.

Food and Drink
Grab a drink at the Great Lakes Brewing Co. beer tent or order from the on-site food truck.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.