Heading Logo

Twinsburg City Council elects president, vice president

by Andrew Schunk | Editor Published: December 10, 2012 11:49 AM
  • 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos

Twinsburg -- Seth Rodin will lead Twinsburg City Council into 2013, replacing Councilor Ted Yates as the legislature's president.

Council unanimously elected both Rodin, of Meadow Boulevard in Ward 5, as president, and Maureen Stauffer, of Luman Lane in Ward 4, as vice president for 2013-14 at the Council meeting Dec. 4. Stauffer will replace Rodin as vice president.

"We'll work to address the repeal of the quarter-percent income tax hike," Rodin said, calling the repeal Council's top issue for the coming year.

The income tax increase was originally passed by voters in November 2009, raising the city's rate from 2 to 2.25 percent, as a measure to buoy city revenue following the closure of the Chrysler Stamping Plant late that same year. Because the measure was originally passed with a sunset clause, the quarter-percent hike will expire in 2013 if Council chooses not to place the measure before voters for a renewal.

Rodin added that the proposed roundabout at Glenwood Drive and Route 91; the anticipated growth at Cornerstone Business Park (site of the former Chrysler plant); the future of the Old School on Route 91; and the mixed use ideas for the area surrounding Twinsburg Township Square should be top priorities for Council in the new year.

[Article continues below]

"We will focus on economic growth more than anything," Rodin said.

Stauffer said the $1 million sewer line construction project, to begin this spring in her ward, is a local focus.

"[City engineer] Amy Mohr has been working closely with the homeowner's association there to make sure everything goes smoothly," Stauffer said. "We will continue to move forward with our planned projects in the city."

Rodin will be paid a flat salary of $11,529 for the top Council seat in 2013, while all other Councilors, including Stauffer, will be paid a flat annual salary of $10,980. Rodin and Stauffer were first elected to Council in 2009.

Other Twinsburg Councilors include Bill Furey, Bob McDermott, Sam Scaffide, Gary Sorace and Yates.

Email: aschunk@recordpub.com

Phone: 330-541-9424

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.