- 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos
TWINSBURG -- 2017 is sure to hold a special place in the hearts of residents of Twinsburg Township, the city of Twinsburg and the village of Reminderville.
As each community turns the calendar to the new year, the Bicentennial celebration begins, marking 200 years since Ethan Alling founded the area -- at first called "Millsville" -- in 1817. It would be twins Moses and Aaron Wilcox in 1819 who would change the name to "Twinsburg."
In the coming months, this historic milestone will be celebrated through special events such Founder's Day, community signage, traveling historical displays, and a book coming this March. Vouchers for the free publication in March will be sent to all households in February.
The website for the Bicentennial Committee, www.Twinsburg200.com, will serve as a living document where visitors can add content, comment on photos and reminisce.
Throughout the year, area residents can share some of the most fondly remembered stories and photos on a monthly basis -- and what better place to begin than with one of the most iconic structures in the community, the First Congregational Church on the Square.
"Like a boulder that stands in opposition to the flow of a rushing river, the First Congregational Church of Twinsburg has remained unmoved, in spite of time and transformation," according to information at Twinsburg200.com. "A house of worship, it has stood through the ages, a silent witness to generations of parishioners, and the coming and going of reverends, as well as the periodic renovation and expansion.
"The origins and essence of the church predate its physical embodiment. The first assembly coalesced in August of 1822. Though small in number, the thirteen founding members formed a cohesive community, united in their belief. The church standing today, owes its construction and craftsmanship to the skilled laborers who completed the structure in the autumn of 1848."
Stories of the First Congregational Church and more are available at www.Twinsburg200.com, from the history of Twinsburg to the first Twins Days celebration in 1976; from stories of UFOs over the community to the history of the former Chrysler Stamping Plant; from the establishment of Liberty Park to the death of one of its own officers in 2008; and many, many more.
The Twinsburg Bulletin will seek to highlight some of this rich history each month in 2017, in both the Wednesday editions of the paper as well as at www.twinsburgbulletin.com, just as the communities incorporate the Bicentennial celebration into annual events such as the Memorial Day Parade, Twins Days Festival and the Twinsburg Chamber of Commerce clambake.
To learn more about the Bicentennial, visit Twinsburg200.com or follow the Bicentennial Facebook page, "Twinsburg 200 -- Three Communities, One Heritage."
-- Submitted by the 2017 Bicentennial Committee and compiled by Editor Andrew Schunk